For more information on our church organization, HERE.


First Presbyterian officers serve as elders and deacons, organized into the Session and the Diaconate. The Session governs the local church; the Diaconate cares for the congregation. Officers serve on a three-year rotation, renewable for one term.

The Session (Elders)


Fran Bagwell
David Beacham
Roy Berry
Leslie Calicutt
Mark Coleman
Mary Dixon
Ken Frick
Mark Hicklin
David Ike
Kay McClure
Nan McDaniel
Kam Neely
Susan Oldham
Carter Smith
Pat Tatham


Bert Barre
David Berry
Jennifer Biber
Mark Cann
Dick Carr
David Cecil
Fred Cumbo
Sally Dover
Emma Harrill
Ann Jones
Stan Lummus
Eric Nease
Richard Strasburger
Winnie Walsh
Lewis White


Lee Close
Celia Cogdell
Suzy Cole
Andrew Darr
Melissa France
Laura Henthorn
Whit Kennedy
Craig Long
Jason Lynch
Ashley Millinor
Bert Moore
Steven Richards
Jessalyn Story
Monica Threatt
Linda West

The Diaconate (Board of Deacons)


Marjorie Appiah
Randy Barre
Budge Bean
Margie Beckett
Randall Chambers
Erin Chastain
Max Hyde
Brenda James
Donna Kennedy
Andy Lancaster
Lisa Lefebvre
Melissa Morehead
Juli Robertson
Joy Shackelford
Brand Stille


Katherine Burns
Harry Clayton
Molly Colbath
Mary Deller
John Donovan
Phillip Glover
Carol Gutman
Marsha Hagins
Anne Hicklin
LeAnne Holcombe
Eunice Knouse
Tommy Rudeen
Denise Stevens
John Tatham
Alan Workman


Will Adair
Vic Bailey IV
Steven Blanton
Bill Cummings
Chris Curtis
Carroll Easterling
Rob Elliot
John Faris
Dana Halliday
Andy Halligan
Catherine Johnson
Bryan Pack
Kristen Raynor
Leah Rigsby
Marsh Rogers

2017-2018 Committee of the Session

Moderator, Senior Pastor // Dr. Thomas E. Evans

Clerk of Session // Lee Close

Associate Clerk of Session // Nan McDaniel

Treasurer // Wally Barre

Congregational Nominating Committee

Elders: Kay McClure, Chair (18), Susan Oldham, Vice-Chair (18), Dick Carr (19), Bert Moore (20), Linda West (20)

Deacons: Max Hyde (18), Molly Colbath (19), Bryan Pack (20)

Ministry of Administration

Jessalyn Story, Chair (20)
Winnie Walsh, Vice-Chair (19)
Dick Carr (19)
Mary Dixon (18)
Mark Coleman (18)

Whit Kennedy, Chair (20)
Mark Hicklin, Vice-Chair (18)
David Cecil (18)
Fred Cumbo (19)

Emma Harrill, Chair (19)
Lewis White, Vice-Chair (19)
Jason Lynch (20)

Officer Placement
Mark Coleman, Chair (18)
Mark Cann, Vice-Chair (19)
Mark Hicklin (18)
Linda West (20)

David Beacham, Chair (18)
Celia Cogdell, Vice-Chair (20)

Bert Barre, Chair (19)
Leslie Calicutt, Vice-Chair (18)
Linda West (20)

Endowment Advancement Committee
Craig Long, Chair (20)
Bert Barre, Vice-Chair (19)
Ken Frick (18)

Ministry of Worship

Worship Committee
Jennifer Biber, Chair (19)
Sally Dover, Vice-Chair (19)
Roy Berry, Music (18)
Richard Strasburger, AV (19)
Celia Cogdell, Sacraments (20)
Melissa France, Sacraments (20)

Ministry of Music

Music Committee
Roy Berry, Chair (18)
Mary Dixon, Vice-Chair (18)
Fran Bagwell (18)

Ministry of Education & Discipleship

Adult Ministry
Mark Cann, Chair (19)
Nan McDaniel, Vice-Chair (18)
David Berry (19)
Winnie Walsh (19)
Bert Moore (20)

Children's Ministry
Ann Jones, Chair (19)
Carter Smith, Vice-Chair (18)

Ministry of Young Adults

Spark Committee
Ashley Millinor, Chair (20)
Steven Richards, Vice Chair (20)
Leslie Calicutt, Vice-Chair (18)

Ministry of Youth

Monica Threatt, Chair (20)
Laura Henthorn, Vice-Chair (20)
Suzy Cole (20)

Ministry of Mission

Pat Tatham, Chair (18)

Stan Lummus, Chair (19)
Andrew Darr, Vice-Chair (20)
Dick Carr (19)
David Ike (18)

Kam Neely, Chair (18)
Eric Nease, Vice Chair (19)
Kenny Frick (18)

2016-2017 Committee of the Diaconate

Associate Pastor for Congregational Care and Deacons // Rev. Joanne Hull

Moderator // Randall Chambers

Vice-Moderator // Brand Stille

Secretary // Margie Beckett

Care Ministry

Juli Robertson, Chair (18)

Carol Gutman, Chair (19)
Donna Kennedy (18)

Communion to the Farthest Pew
Joy Shackelford, Chair (18)
Denise Stevens (19)

Meal Ministry
Brenda James, Co-Chair (18)
Katherine Burns (19)
Juli Robertson (18)

Eunice Knouse, Chair (18)
Carol Gutman (19)

Andy Lancaster (18)
Juli Robertson (18)

Stephen Ministry
John Tatham, Chair (19)
Randy Barre (18)

Support Partners
Carroll Easterling, Co-Chair (20)
Melissa Morehead, Co-Chair (18)

Marsha Hagins, Chair (19)
Dana Halliday (20)
Tommy Rudeen (19)

Engage Ministry

Brand Stille, Chair (18)

Fellowship/Special Events
Marjorie Appiah, Co-Chair (18)
LeAnne Holcombe, Co-Chair (19)
Molly Colbath (19)
Kristen Raynor (20)

Will Adair, Co-Chair (20)
Budge Bean, Co-Chair (20)
Dawn Bingham (17)

Vic Bailey, Co-Chair (20)
Bill Cummings, Co-Chair (20)
Steven Blanton (20)
Alan Workman (19)

JOY Fellowship (Older Adult)
Mary Deller, Chair (19)
Anne Hicklin (19)

Brand Stille, Chair (18)
Harry Clayton (19)
Chris Curtis (20)

Wednesdays at First
John Faris, Co-Chair (20)
Andy Lancaster, Co-Chair (18)
Andy Halligan (20)

Connect Ministry

Lisa Lefebvre, Chair (18)

Visitor Follow-up
Erin Chastain, Chair (18)
Cathering Johnson (20)
Leah Rigsby (20)

Margie Beckett, Chair (18)
Lisa Lefebvre (18)

Welcome Class
Phillip Glover, Chair (19)
Rob Elliott (20)

Worship Greeters
John Donovan, Co-Chair (19)
Max Hyde, Co-Chair (18)
Bryan Pack (20)
Marsh Rogers (20)

Strategic Plan

We have prayed and pondered God's plan for our church's future. Over 900 congregation members participated in our church-wide survey to develop our Strategic Plan.

Click here to see where we believe God is leading us! »